May 31, 2019

Last Sunday, Jeana asked if I would run old devotionals on the Fridays I am off. Since she is much more intelligent than I am, I decided to follow her advice. Here’s a devotional from five years ago. I pray that it somehow blesses your day.

Devotion for June 5, 2014

A man, here in the church, who owns some liquor stores, recently asked if I would go to one of his liquor stores to talk an employee about coming to church. He told me that he was certain she would come, if I invited her.

So the next day, wearing my FUMC Temple shirt with the cross and flame embroidered on the pocket, I walked up to the front of the church office and said that I was going to the liquor store. I asked if I could pick anything for the church staff. They declined.

I drove to the liquor store and walked in. The woman was at the cash register. I introduced myself and she told me that her boss had said I may be stopping by. I stood at the front counter and as people were paying for their whiskey, vodka and beer, we had a wonderful conversation about Jesus Christ. I noticed that we got some strange looks.

That next Sunday, I looked out into the congregation and there she was. She was not alone. Sitting next to her was her mother and her pregnant daughter. Isn’t that wonderful?

What I find miraculous about this story is that it would have never taken place if the owner of the liquor store had not been so interested in his employee’s soul, that he was willing to share his faith and have me do the same. If this had not happened, she would not be in church and her family would still be lost.

The point is that we have to meet people where they are in order to follow through on Jesus’ instructions. This is what he says, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything that I commanded you. And remember, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20

In order to do this, some of us may have to go to places we aren’t necessarily comfortable. That’s okay. Most of the time, God calls us out of our comfort zones. You may find yourself at a ball game, in a doctor’s office or a parking garage when the opportunity presents itself. Do it. Invite that person to church. By doing so, you may just save a soul.

Prayer: Dear Gracious Heavenly Father, I thank you for saving me and I ask that you use me to save others. In those times when my courage may waiver, give me strength. In those times when I my mind fills with doubts, give me resolve. In those times when I am tired and don’t want to follow you will, give me strength and resolve. I pray that I will see you smile. In Jesus’ name I pray. Amen.

Just for the record, I have decided to spend a lot more time in liquor stores.

I pray your life is filled with joy and love.

Tom Robbins